Belarus retaliated against sanctions imposed by Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia

EconomicsExterior policy

In a statement posted on the foreign Ministry’s website, Anatoly Glaz said that the Baltic neighbors have expanded the sanctions lists for Belarus regarding the meeting between French President Emmanuel Macron and Svetlana Tikhanovskaya.

“Well, starting today, as promised, we are also putting in place symmetrical retaliatory restrictive measures for each of these countries. We said that this is a downward spiral, launched at the instigation of individual Lithuanian leaders. We will continue to respond, but we will never initiate such steps,” said the head of the Department of information and digital diplomacy, a spokesman for the foreign Ministry.

The Belarusian side has drawn up its own sanctions lists for Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia. About 100 officials from each country were included in them, and they are now banned from entering Belarus.